Twitter Rolling out with Mute Feature

Twitter Rolling out with Mute Feature

Twitter is the popular social networking service, where one can discover interesting people and share your opinion to other users and also it enable you to follow up their burst messages as long as they are interested. It is the house of thoughts of every individual, where you can share all the information, fun, update yourself with all the happenings. Twitter is featured with several powerful tools such as follow, tweet, Retweet, direct message and track trends and much more. These features let each and every user to follow up their favorite new celebrities, charities, political figures, businesses, family, friends, colleagues and so on. The people you usually follow on Twitter rapidly increase day by day and most of the users might be following hundreds or thousands of other users on their Twitter account. Users those who follows more number of other users will be getting lots and lots of tweets in their account, where most of the tweets are irrelevant to us.

How to: mute Twitter. Photo Illustration: WIRED

Though there are so many features to enjoy and to get update in regular, there might be some situations in which some user wants to limit contact with the certain people in order to avoid some of the irritational or boring tweets from other user. For this purpose, twitter has launched a new “Mute” feature that let you to do exactly with a simple option.

The mute option enable you take over the complete control over the tweets or retweets that appear on your timeline by removing a particular user’s content whom you want to mute. What makes this feature special is that the muted user will not be able to know that they have been muted by you and of course you can unmute the muted user at any time.

pop

How to mute User?

If you have decided to mute a particular user, all you have to do is tap on their particular profile picture, which will take you to the applicable profile where you can perform mute function. Once you get into the particular profile, select the gear icon which can be find at the bottom left hand corner of the screen. It will take you to the settings for that user, there you can find the option to block and mute user. If you make a click on mute user option, then on you cannot see that person’s tweets in your time line anymore. Keep in mind, the muted user will still be able to favorite, reply to and retweet your Tweets but you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline.

badge